Energy Security Commission established by the President of Latvia starts its work

Published more than 9 years ago

Published: 29.04.2016.

"Energy resources, ensuring their availability, technical power supply and legal framework of efficient operation of energy sector are both priority policy direction of the European Union and significant issues of security of Latvia and the Baltic region under current geopolitical circumstances," stressed President of Latvia Raimonds Vējonis when establishing the Energy Security Commission on April 29.

Upon commission of the President of Latvia, the Energy Security Commission aims to analyse energy security issues, make recommendations to address them and provide support to the President of Latvia in fulfilling his presidential mandate pursuant to the Satversme (Latvian Constitution).

"For meeting the total Latvia's energy demand, we have currently 53% of local resources available. Despite the fact that Latvia also exports energy, increase of energy self-sufficiency and sustainability would improve economic and social security of the country. At the same time, Latvia as a EU Member State may not be isolated in forming its energy policy and decision-making, so closer cooperation at regional and European level is also required," mentioned R.Vējonis.

The President of Latvia has called for the Energy Security Commission to assess the current development of Latvia's energy policy, to analyse and make suggestions for its improvement so that energy sector would be strengthened in the short, medium and long term and would contribute to improving the overall economic security of the country.

The President of Latvia appointed an energy expert, former Minister of Energy of the country Juris Ozoliņš be the Chairperson of the Energy Security Committee. Chairman of the Board of JSC "Augstsprieguma tīkls" Varis Boks, Member of the Board of Latvian District Heating Association, Dr.sc.ing. Edgars Vīgants, Advisor to the Department of International Relations and Communications of the Bank of Latvia Andris Strazds, Member of the Board of Wind Energy Association Toms Nāburgs, energy expert Reinis Āboltiņš, and energy expert Dr.sc.ing. Jānis Reķis undertook to contribute to the Commission work and were appointed as Members of the Energy Security Commission.

Related topics

Raimonds Vējonis

https://www.president.lv/en/article/energy-security-commission-established-president-latvia-starts-its-work